I haven’t been able to sleep before 2 am these few days. I’m a night owl by nature, energetic at night and grumpy and tired in the morning. But I know sleeping late is bad for health (the hours between 10pm to 2am are supposed to be the most crucial hours for your body to repair itself during sleep), so I’ve been trying to sleep early ever since my uni days.

So what am I doing blogging so late? I decided to do something other than turning and tossing in my bed till 2am. In my JC days, I used to write letters to my secret pals in the middle of the night, almost every night. My creative juices flow best at night.

I miss watching the funny British comedies Art Central used to screen late at night, like ‘Allo ‘Allo, and Absolutely Fabulous. I would be the only one laughing to myself while the rest of my family were asleep. Why don’t they screen such shows anymore? Ah, and The Sketch Show, and another show about a female vicar in the countryside. Those were hilarious.

It’s stupid how I have lots and lots of thoughts going on in my mind while I’m lying on my bed trying to fall asleep but when I sit in front of the computer, I seem to have absolutely nothing to say…

Btw, my new header image is from the NASA website. It’s part of a picture taken of about 10,000 galaxies. I used to lie awake at night thinking about planet Earth, and our solar systems, and how it is just one of the gazillions of solar systems in our galaxy the milky way, and how again our galaxy is just one of the gazillions of galaxies in the universe. And maybe somewhere in the milky way, or in another galaxy, there might be planets just like ours having the same people livng on them (ie, us) but living different lives. Somehow this gives me a very queer feeling inside. When I was a kid I used to imagine myself in a parellel world whenever bad things happened. I’d imagine I’d walk through my home door and inside, everything would be the same except for the circumstances I was in. And now, late at night when I can’t sleep and have nothing better to do, I ponder over this idea. Imagine if God not just created this world, but many others scattered all over the universe, and there are many “us”es, and the worlds are all different as a result of the decisions people made over time. I imagine that when we go to heaven, we’d be able to travel faster than the speed of light and we would be able to zoom through the galaxies.

Another concept that I marvel at is that many of the stars we see no longer exist, yet we can see them now due to the great distance from the stars to us and with the speed of light. So the night sky we see today is barely “real” then!

Ah well enough of my ramblings… it is the magic hour of 2am and hopefully, I’ll be sound asleep soon, having gotten al these random thoughts out of my head. Nighty-night!

