Read my friend HS’s blog entry today, and felt inspired to write this.

 She wrote about how unsuitable she finds herself to be a tai-tai after having nothing much to do at home for a day… For me, after being jobless for 4 months this time and 6 months after I came back from Dubai, I say I definitely pass the tai-tai test with flying colours!

Honestly, I think I was born to be a tai-tai, or at least a housewife. I find that time passes by so quickly and easily and life is so much more enjoyable when I’m not working. Or maybe I’m just allergic to work. :p The only snag is since I’m not a real tai-tai yet (I’m not filthy rich), the money runs out pretty fast and there is none coming in. Otherwise, I’m perfectly happy being unemployed.

I wake up early in the morning to cook oatmeal for my DH’s breakfast, then I have breakfast with him. After he goes off to work, I usually go back to sleep for a while, or watch my fav Sesame Street. When I wake up again I wash up and watch TV, or do some housework, then prepare for lunch. After lunch there’s always still 1001 things to do, like washing the clothes (by machine, of course), hanging out the laundry, boiling water, unpacking my stuff (just moved house), playing with and feeding our 2 dwarf hamsters Speedy and Hamtaro, reading, surfing the net, sewing the remaining curtains, watching more TV, tidying the house, going out to places I’d always wanted to go but never had the time to when working (eg Haji Lane), sleeping, blogging, going back to parents’ home to pack more stuff, watching children’s programmes on Kid’s Central, making jewellery, sewing stuff, making crafts (which I haven’t really had time to do since I moved here), watching DVDs, going to the gym… There are so many things for me to do!

So, when my hairdresser asked me if I felt bored not working for so long, my answer is a big NO! I guess it helps that I enjoy my own company and don’t mind being alone for extended periods of time. Being home alone is fine with me, shopping alone too, only thing I’m too lazy to do alone is go to the gym!

Of course it’s nice to dress up and go to work everyday, and have pay every month to buy whatever I like, but the stress, the hustle and bustle, they’re not for me. So if I could afford it, I’d definitely be a tai-tai for the rest of my life. 🙂

